Sunday (feast day – exempt from Lenten penance)

Fasting: Day 7

Two bits of Scriptures again:

“…Jesus said to them, ‘Can the wedding guests fast while the bridegroom is with them? As long as they have the bridegroom with them, they cannot fast.'” (Mark 2:19)
“Jesus said to them, ‘Truly, truly, I say to you, unless you eat the flesh of the Son of man and drink his blood, you have no life in you; he who eats my flesh and drinks my blood has eternal life, and I will raise him up at the last day. For my flesh is food indeed, and my blood is drink indeed. He who eats my flesh and drinks my blood abides in me, and I in him.'” (John 6:53-56)

Intentions: That by fasting from earthly food we may truly recognize in the Eucharist all its splendor, as the wedding feast, heavenly Manna, and the true Bread of Life; the “source and summit” of our Catholic faith which sustains us, reconciles us to the Father, and brings us to life everlasting.

Action: Make it a habit to pray silently at the moment of consecration (suggestion from scripture: “My Lord and my God” [John 20:28]), and in preparation for reception of the Eucharist that you may receive it worthily with faith, reverence and awe, and with joyful thanksgiving for the grace and life Christ has given you in the Sacrament through his death and resurrection.

Leave a Reply

