Seven Last Words on the Cross

Did you know that Christ spoke on the cross about seven things, spread across the four Gospels? Dying words, as you know, are usually the most concise and crucial words, as they convey what needs to be conveyed – books have been written about them (here’s the entire text of one such a book). Many Saints had devotion to these words:

From the Gospel of Luke:

  • “Father, forgive them; for they know not what they do.”
  • “Truly, I say to you, today you will be with me in Paradise.”
  • “Father, into thy hands I commit my spirit!”

From the Gospel of John:

  • (To Mary,) “Woman, behold, your son!” {to the disciple,) “Behold, your mother!”
  • “I thirst.”
  • “It is finished”

From the Gospel of Matthew:

  • “Eli, Eli, la’ma sabach-tha’ni?” that is, “My God, my God, why hast thou forsaken me?”

Let me know if you have any insights about these!

Leave a Reply

