Fiction books

There’s something quite remarkable about fiction books. They can draw you in and immerse you in a totally different reality that is at once invigorating and nostalgic. They can show you a whole new aspect of our reality through made-up stories. I think that’s pretty amazing.

C. S. Lewis’ Narnia books have always interested me. So far I’ve read about half of the series in Japanese (since primary school), and now I’m slowly finishing the other half as I come across them. Knowing now that Lewis meant the series to be a fictional parallel of Christianity, I read The Magician’s Nephew (which I happened to come across recently) with particular interest.

The Magician’s Nephew deals with the creation of Narnia, and the introduction of evil into this world (equivalent to the fall). As with the other Narnia books, I enjoyed most Lewis’ fantastic descriptive writing through which one could almost smell, taste, see and experience this wonderful world. I don’t want to spoil the plot or anything, so I won’t say too much, but I’ll say that it serves to explain all the events and wonders that follow (like where the witch and the wardrobe came from, or even how the lamp post tree came to be). A great read.

Jules Verne is the famous French author who wrote Twenty Thousand Leagues Under the Sea and Around the World in Eighty Days. I read his biography the other day, and was amazed to learn that he wrote about many things such as submarines and space travel (to the moon) to a fine and plausible detail, so that he could be called the father of modern science fiction. I’d love to read more of his books.

Leave a Reply

