September 11th

It’s September 11th today.

I remember where I was when I first heard the news on this day in 2001. I was in the lounge in my flat, when I was still in University, and my flatmate came rushing in with a look of disbelief and told me what had happened. I couldn’t believe it. It just left me dumbfounded. When I went to Uni’, I couldn’t do any work; I just knelt down and prayed the Rosary. I wasn’t a Catholic yet, in terms of being baptised (conditionally, anyway). In such a time of desolation, it became so clear that all things are transitory, all pleasures fleeting, and all of life is so fragile and only a moment long. God has set eternity in our hearts (Ecclesiastes 3:11), and at that moment I had perceived it.

May God bless us and keep us this day, deliver us from evil, and direct us to life everlasting. Amen.

Leave a Reply

